Flood Mitigation Assistance Program


Deadline passed. Most recent deadline: January 27, 2023. The Flood Mitigation Assistance Program is a competitive grant program that provides funding to states, local communities, federally recognized tribes and territories. Funds can be used for projects that reduce or eliminate the risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings insured by the National Flood Insurance Program. FEMA chooses recipients based on the applicant’s ranking of the project and the eligibility and cost-effectiveness of the project. FEMA requires state, local, tribal and territorial governments to develop and adopt hazard mitigation plans as a condition for receiving certain types of non-emergency disaster assistance, including funding for hazard mitigation assistance projects. For more information, go to the Hazard Mitigation Assistance Guidance.

Funding Amount
Matching Funds
All 50 States, the District of Columbia, Federally-recognized Native American Tribal governments, American
Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands are eligible to apply for the
FY 2020 FMA Grant Program. Local governments are considered sub-applicants and must apply to their
applicant state/territory.
Contact Information
For general questions about the FMA program can be directed to the appropriate State Hazard Mitigation Officer (SHMO) or FEMA Regional Office on FEMA.gov. The HMA Helpline is available by telephone at (866) 222-3580.