Air Monitoring and Air Quality Sensors Grants under the Inflation Reduction Act

Type
Funding
Organization
US EPA
Description

Most Recent Deadline: May 31, 2024. EPA is announcing the availability of approximately $81 million in non-competitive, direct award funding from the Inflation Reduction Act of 2022 (IRA) for eligible state, local, Tribal and territorial air agencies to establish new ambient air monitoring sites, and maintain, operate, or upgrade existing ambient air monitoring networks. These funds provide critical resources to ensure the sustainability of national air quality monitoring networks as a public asset. The networks provide data to inform decision making that protects human health and the environment. Approximately $2 million of funding is also available to support the deployment and operation of air quality sensors in low-income and disadvantaged communities across the United States.

Category Taxonomy
Funding Amount
Approximately $81 million in non-competitive, direct award funding
Matching Funds
No cost share is required
Geography
Eligibility
Eligible air agencies for the purpose of this funding opportunity are air pollution control agencies
currently involved in air monitoring activities that regularly receive CAA section 103 or 105 grants either
annually or every few years. “Air pollution control agencies” as defined by section 302 of the Clean Air
Act include air agencies of states (including the District of Columbia, American Samoa, Commonwealth
of the Northern Marianas, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands), local governments, and
federally recognized Tribes.
Contact Information
By EPA Region:

1 Jennifer Brady 617-918-1698; brady.jenniferL@epa.gov
2 Emmet Keveney 212-637-3459; Keveney.Emmet@epa.gov
3 Krista Gonzalez
AJ McCullough
215-814-3300; gonzalez.krista@epa.gov
215-814-2093; Mccullough.amanda@epa.gov
4 Janine Morris
Todd Rinck
404-562-9480; morris.janine@epa.gov
404-562-9062; Rinck.Todd@epa.gov
5 Michelle Becker
Nora Suntken
312-886-3901; becker.michelle@epa.gov
312-353-3298; suntken.nora@epa.gov
6 Donnett Patterson
Aunjanee Gautreaux (Tribal)
214-665-7418; Patterson.Donnett@epa.gov
214-665-7127; Gautreaux.Aunjanee@epa.gov
7 Stephanie Doolan
Andy Hawkins
913- 551-7719; Doolan.Stephanie@epa.gov
913-551-7179; hawkins.andy@epa.gov
8 Marisa McPhilliamy
Emily Bertram
303-312-6965; McPhilliamy.Marisa@epa.gov
303-312-7057; bertram.emily@epa.gov
9 Angela Latigue
Jean Samolis
415- 947-4170; latigue.angela@epa.gov
415-972-3939; samolis.jean@epa.gov
10 Christina Miller (S/L)
Sandra Brozusky (Tribal)
206-553-6512; miller.christina@epa.gov
206-553-5317; brozusky.sandra@epa.gov
Status/Type
Grant